how i told my child

Something happened yesterday that made me want to cry. Our new president was elected. Just thinking about it makes me feel ill.

In all honesty I’m not a big pop never payed too close attention to what was going on in politics but I knew one thing for sure. I didn’t was “him” to be our next president. a bigot, sexist, racist, straight out crazy person with no political background and who couldn’t even keep his own businesses from going bankrupt was not qualifies to lead a country.

My son was well aware that Hillary was the better choice way before I started talking about it. Kids hear everything at school. A couple weeks ago he randomly said “It’s a good thing we’re going to Japan, cause if Donald Trump becomes president he wont be ours for a couple weeks.”

He came with me when I went to vote. Standing with me in the booth, consistently whispering to me, reminding me to vote for Hillary.

When I woke up yesterday and looked at my phone my heart sunk. What was I going to tell my son? He had been asking all night when we would find out who won. In his mind Hillary was the one. The other guy was bad. Bad guys don’t win.

But this time one did.

I thought about it hard. What I was going to tell him after waking him. And with a little help this is what I told him.

 I know this isn’t what we wanted, but this is what happens when people vote for something. You don’t always win.  Now Mr. Trump is a bully and no one likes a bully. We wont like all the bad things he wants to do. So we’ll have to stand up and fight for what we believe in, what is right. We will have to stand up and stand by the people…our friends and family he has said mean things about, because they may be worried. Also you need to speak up if you think something is wrong. Don’t always believe what people say, even adults because their not always right. Especially if you feel in your heart that it’s wrong than it probably is. And no matter what peoples religion, how they look or where they are from we are all the same.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

